First Second The Leak
First Second The Leak

The Leak

By Kate Reed Petty


Publication Date: March 16, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12

In this compelling middle-grade graphic novel, Ruth, a young journalist, takes on issues of corruption, pollution, and freedom of the press, determined to uncover a secret that threatens her town.

Ruth Keller is brash and precocious; she argues with her dentist, her parents, and her teachers. So, when she discovers a strange black slime in the man-made lake of her suburban neighborhood, she decides to investigate. Fortified by the encouragement of those around her, Ruth seeks the truth at all costs, even if it means taking on the rich local country club owner, who she believes is responsible for the pollution. Between the teasing of former friends, and a sudden viral spotlight, Ruth discovers how difficult it is for a journalist to take a stand for what's right in the face of critique and controversy. From writer Kate Reed Petty and illustrator Andrea Bell, comes a story about corruption, pollution, and freedom of the press, and the young journalist at the center of it all.

About the Author

Kate Reed Petty lives in Baltimore. Her fiction and essays have been published online by Electric Literature, American Short Fiction, and Ambit, and her short films have appeared in Narrative Magazine and at the Maryland Film Festival. She is also the author of the novel True Story published by Viking in 2020.

Andrea Bell is an illustrator and comic artist living in Chicago through the best and worst seasons. In 2013 she earned her BFA in illustration from Columbia College Chicago and has since self-published "Fair Voyage" and "Still Waiting." Today Andrea works as a freelance illustrator and in her free time enjoys rock climbing, curating playlists, video games, and a warm meme on a cold day.

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 240 pages

Publisher: First Second

Publication Date: March 16, 2021

ISBN: 9781250217967

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books