Minotaur Books The Lindbergh Nanny
Minotaur Books The Lindbergh Nanny

The Lindbergh Nanny

By Mariah Fredericks


Publication Date: November 15, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Mariah Fredericks' propulsive new novel, The Lindbergh Nanny, examines one of the most famous kidnapping cases in America from the lens of its favorite suspect, putting Betty Gow at the center of her own story for the first time.

Betty Gow is known by another name: the Lindbergh Nanny. When toddler Charles Lindbergh Jr. is kidnapped from his parents' weekend home in Hopewell, New Jersey in 1932, his parents are frantic, his grandmother devastated, and the media rabid. Betty, amid the maelstrom and named a suspect herself, is determined to find out who has taken him.

Charles Lindbergh was already famous for his flight across the Atlantic—the golden boy of America, with his wealthy and lovely wife, Anne Morrow Lindbergh, beside him—when Betty joined the household to look after little Charlie. A Scottish immigrant deciphering the rules of her new homeland and its East Coast elite, Betty finds Col. Lindbergh eceentric and often odd, Mrs. Lindbergh kind yet nervous, and Charlie simply a darling. Far from home and bruised from a love affair gone horribly wrong, Betty finds comfort in caring for the child, and warms to the attentions of handsome sailor Henrik, sometimes known as Red.

But when Charlie is taken from the family home, at a time when no one but a handful of Lindbergh servants could have known he was there, everything changes. A suspect in the eyes of both the media and public herself, Betty must find the truth in order to clear her own name—and to find justice for the child she loves.

About the Author

MARIAH FREDERICKS was born and raised in New York City, where she still lives with her family. She is the author of several YA novels. A Death of No Importance was her first adult novel. Visit her website at MariahFredericksBooks.com, and follow her on Twitter @MariahFrederick.

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 320 pages

Publisher: Minotaur Books

Publication Date: November 15, 2022

ISBN: 9781250827401

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books