Minotaur Books The Raging Storm: A Detective Matthew Venn Novel
Minotaur Books The Raging Storm: A Detective Matthew Venn Novel

The Raging Storm: A Detective Matthew Venn Novel

By Ann Cleeves


Publication Date: September 5, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ann Cleeves—New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of the Vera and Shetland series, both of which are hit TV shows—returns with the extraordinary third novel featuring Detective Matthew Venn.

When Jem Rosco—sailor, adventurer and legend—blows into town in the middle of an autumn gale, the residents of Greystone, Devon are delighted to have a celebrity in their midst.

Just as abruptly as he arrived, Rosco disappears again. The locals think nothing of it; that’s the sort of man he is. Until the lifeboat is launched to a hoax call-out and Rosco's body is found in a dinghy, anchored off Scully Cove, a place with legends of its own.

This is an uncomfortable case for DI Matthew Venn. Greystone is a place he came as a child, and this is a community he parted ways with. Superstition and rumor mix as another body is found in Scully Cove, and Matthew finds his judgement clouded. As the stormy winds howl, and Venn and his team investigate, he realizes that their own lifes might be in danger.

About the Author

ANN CLEEVES is the multi-million copy bestselling author behind two hit television series—Shetland, starring Douglas Henshall, and Vera, starring Academy Award Nominee Brenda Blethyn—both of which are watched and loved in the United States.

Shetland and Vera are available on BritBox in the United States. An adaptation of The Long Call, the first book in her Matthew Venn series, premiered on BritBox in 2021.

The first Shetland novel, Raven Black, won the CWA Gold Dagger for best crime novel, and Ann was awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger in 2017. She lives in the United Kingdom.

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 400 pages

Publisher: Minotaur Books

Publication Date: September 5, 2023

ISBN: 9781250836779

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books