Delacorte Press The Year After You
Delacorte Press The Year After You

The Year After You

By Nina de Pass

$17.99

Publication Date: March 31, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 12 And Up, Grades 7 And Up

“I love this sad, beautiful, hopeful book.”—Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends With the Dark

For fans of Nina LaCour and Jennifer Niven, a richly layered novel that’s both uplifting and heartbreaking, about piecing yourself together after loss and the dark truths we choose to keep from each other and ourselves.

San Francisco. New Year’s Eve. A tragic accident after the party of the year. Cara survives. Her best friend, G, doesn’t.

Nine months later, Cara is still struggling, consumed by grief and a dark secret she’d rather forget. In the hopes of offering a fresh start, her mother sends her to boarding school in Switzerland, a place where no one knows what happened—and where they never will, if Cara can help it.

But her new classmates Ren and Hector won’t let her close herself off. They are determined to break down the walls she has so carefully built up. And maybe Cara wants them to…especially Hector, who seems to understand her like no one else does.

The problem is that the closer Cara gets to Hector, the more G slips away. If moving on means letting go of the past—and admitting what she did that night—Cara’s not sure how. But a second chance awaits, if she can only find the strength within herself.

“A poignant exploration of grief, guilt, and forgiveness.”—Sophie Kinsella, New York Times bestselling author of Finding Audrey and the Shopaholic series

“Transportive and redemptive, this is a gentle story about the universality of grief, the beauty of self-forgiveness, and how new friendship can help heal old wounds.”—Ashley Woodfolk, author of The Beauty That Remains and When You Were Everything

“Atmospheric….this is a delicious read.”-Irish Times

“A good choice for readers who enjoyed Stephanie Perkins’s Anna and the French Kiss and Gayle Forman’s If I Stay.”—SLJ

Story Locale: present-day; boarding school in Switzerland; CA; London

About the Author

Nina de Pass started The Year After You, her first novel, during a creative writing class at the Faber Academy. She has an MA in French and Spanish from the University of Edinburgh and now lives and works in London.

To learn more about Nina and her books, visit ninadepass.com and follow @marinadepass on Twitter and Instagram.

Author Residence: London, England

Format: Hardcover

Length: 368 pages

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication Date: March 31, 2020

ISBN: 9780593120767

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal