Bloomsbury Children's Books This Promise of Change
Bloomsbury Children's Books This Promise of Change

This Promise of Change

$17.99

Publication Date: January 08, 2019

+ -
Add to cart
Author: Boyce, Jo Ann Allen
Details: In stock, arrives in 3-5 business days. In-store pickup available.

 

Ages 10 to 12

 

A never-before-told firsthand account of a trailblazer in American history, for fans of Brown Girl Dreaming and Warriors Don’t Cry.

 

In 1956, a year before the integration of Central High School in Little Rock, 14 year old Jo Ann Allen made history when she and 11 other black students in Clinton, Tennessee integrated a public high school.

 

As outside protesters arrived, tensions rose and neighbor turned against neighbor. Soon even the students themselves wondered if they should just return to their old school.

 

Jo Ann wanted everything a girl her age should be able to have: friendships, an education, and time to daydream about her crush—but instead, she was thrust into national spotlight as a spokesperson for the cause.

 

This nonfiction in verse, the first children’s book about a forgotten moment in history, is based on Jo Ann’s experience as well as extensive primary research and features archival materials and notes from the authors.

 

0 stars based on 0 reviews
Add to wishlist / Add to comparison
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card