Random House Utopia Avenue Random House Utopia Avenue Random House Utopia Avenue
Random House Utopia Avenue Random House Utopia Avenue Random House Utopia Avenue

Utopia Avenue

By David Mitchell


Publication Date: July 14, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

The long-awaited new novel from the bestselling, prize-winning author of Cloud Atlas and The Bone Clocks.

Utopia Avenue is the strangest British band you’ve never heard of. Emerging from London’s psychedelic scene in 1967, and fronted by folk singer Elf Holloway, blues bassist Dean Moss and guitar virtuoso Jasper de Zoet, Utopia Avenue embarked on a meteoric journey from the seedy clubs of Soho, a TV debut on Top of the Pops, the cusp of chart success, glory in Amsterdam, prison in Rome and a fateful American sojourn in the Chelsea Hotel, Laurel Canyon and San Francisco during the autumn of ’68.

David Mitchell’s kaleidoscopic novel tells the unexpurgated story of Utopia Avenue’s turbulent life and times; of fame’s Faustian pact and stardom’s wobbly ladder; of the families we choose and the ones we don’t; of voices in the head, and the truths and lies they whisper; of music, madness and idealism. Can we really change the world, or does the world change us?

Story Locale: London, England

About the Author

David Mitchell is the award-winning and bestselling author of Slade House, The Bone Clocks, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, Black Swan Green, Cloud Atlas, Number9Dream, and Ghostwritten. Twice shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Mitchell was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by Time in 2007. With KA Yoshida, Mitchell translated from the Japanese the international bestselling memoirs The Reason I Jump and Fall Down 7 Times Get Up 8. He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children.

Author Residence: Ardfield, Ireland

Author Hometown: Southport, England

Format: Hardcover

Length: 592 pages

Publisher: Random House

Publication Date: July 14, 2020

ISBN: 9780812997439

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card