Flatiron Books 888 Love and the Divine Burden of Numbers: A Novel
Flatiron Books 888 Love and the Divine Burden of Numbers: A Novel

888 Love and the Divine Burden of Numbers: A Novel

By Abraham Chang

$29.99

Publication Date: April 30, 2024

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

For fans of Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow and High Fidelity comes a dazzling love story set at NYU in the mid-'90s, that buzzes with big-hearted pop culture energy

Young Wang has received plenty of wisdom from his beloved uncle: don’t take life too seriously, get out on the road when you can, and everyone gets just seven great loves in their life—so don’t blow it. This last one sticks with Young as he is an obsessive cataloger of his life: movies watched, favorite albums . . . all filtered through Chinese numerology and superstition. He finds meaning in almost everything, for which his two best friends endlessly tease him. But then, at the end of 1995, when Young is at New York University, he meets Erena. She’s brilliant, charismatic, quick-witted, and crassly funny. They fall in love and, for Young, it feels so real that he’s thrilled and terrified. As Young and Erena’s relationship blossoms, we get flashbacks to Young’s first five loves. That means Erena is “number six.” Was his uncle wrong—is she the one and only? Or are they fated for failure to make room for Young’s final, seventh love?

A love letter to Western pop culture, Eastern traditions, and being a first-generation New Yorker, Abraham Chang’s dazzling debut reminds us that luck only gets us so far when it comes to matters of the heart.

About the Author

Abraham Yu-Young Chang is an award-winning, published poet with an MFA in creative writing from New York University. He has worked in the publishing industry since 2000 and currently manages Special Sales for Simon & Schuster. He lives in Forest Hills, Queens, with his wife.

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 400 pages

Publisher: Flatiron Books

Publication Date: April 30, 2024

ISBN: 9781250910783

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books