Balzer + Bray A Good Kind of Trouble
Balzer + Bray A Good Kind of Trouble

A Good Kind of Trouble

By Lisa Moore Ramee

$7.99

Publication Date: June 16, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

An acclaimed middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds. Now in paperback!

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she’d also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) But in junior high, it’s like all the rules have changed. Now she’s suddenly questioning who her best friends are, and some people at school are saying she’s not black enough. Wait, what?Shay’s sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn’t think that’s for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum.Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn’t face her fear, she’ll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now, that’s trouble, for real.

About the Author

Lisa Moore Ramée was born and raised in Los Angeles, and she now lives in the Bay Area of California with her husband, two kids, and two obnoxious cats. She is the author of A Good Kind of Trouble and Something to Say.You can visit her online at www.lisamooreramee.com.

Format: Paperback

Length: 384 pages

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Publication Date: June 16, 2020

ISBN: 9780062836694

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal