Harper Perennial After the Fireworks
Harper Perennial After the Fireworks

After the Fireworks

By Aldous Huxley


Publication Date: September 6, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

“‘After the Fireworks’ is a major work and a turning point for Huxley, leading directly to Brave New World.”—Gary Giddins, From the Foreword“Aldous Huxley endures as one of the most visionary and unusual minds of the twentieth century.”—Maria Popova, Brain PickingsA collection of three lost classic pieces of short fiction by Aldous Huxley, author of Brave New World, with a foreword by National Book Critics Circle Award winner Gary Giddins—now available as a Harper Perennial Olive Edition.

In the title novella, Rome is the stunning backdrop for a renowned novelist’s dangerous love affair. “Uncle Spencer” is the “exquisite” (New Statesman) tale of an aging World War I veteran’s quest for the lost love he met in a prison during the war, and “Two or Three Graces,” “probably the thing nearest perfection of all that [Huxley] has done” (New Statesman), recounts a destructive writer’s abusive relationship with an impressionable housewife.These novellas reveal Aldous Huxley at the height of his powers.

About the Author

Aldous Huxley (1894–1963) is the author of the classic novels Brave New World, Island, and Eyeless in Gaza, as well as such critically acclaimed nonfiction works as The Devils of Loudun, The Perennial Philosophy, and The Doors of Perception. Born in Surrey, England, and educated at Oxford, he died in Los Angeles, California.

Format: Paperback

Length: 416 pages

Publisher: Harper Perennial

Publication Date: September 6, 2022

ISBN: 9780063269613

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books