HarperAlley Atana and the Firebird
HarperAlley Atana and the Firebird

Atana and the Firebird

By Vivian Zhou


Publication Date: November 7, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

Hildafolk meets Wingbearer in Atana and the Firebird, the first book in a middle grade graphic novel duology by debut author Vivian Zhou, which follows the adventures of a mermaid, a firebird, and a witch as they become entangled with the mysterious and powerful Witch Queen, who may hold the key to Atana’s past.

Atana’s island may be quiet and peaceful, but mostly, it’s lonely. With the outside world full of magic hunters who would stop at nothing to trap a mermaid like herself, Atana has never been brave enough to swim far from her island’s shores and seek the answers to her mysterious past—until Ren unexpectedly crashes into her life.A firebird whose kind has not been seen for hundreds of years, Ren’s arrival does not go unnoticed. Determined to both protect Ren and finally chase the answers she’s longed for, Atana embarks on an adventure that takes her and the firebird to strange new islands and entangles them with the powerful yet secretive Witch Queen.Generous though the Witch Queen’s offer of protection may be, an invitation to the Blue Palace can’t come without a price. And while the Palace’s splendid halls and library might hold the key to Atana’s past, will she be willing to pay the cost when it risks her chance of a bright new future?

About the Author

Vivian Zhou is a graduate of Sheridan College’s Bachelor of Animation program. After working on a multitude of animated shows and award-winning short films as a storyboard artist and occasionally a director, she is now following her dream of creating her own comic. She currently resides in Nova Scotia, Canada, where she can be found trying to draw with squid ink.

Format: Paperback

Length: 256 pages

Publisher: HarperAlley

Publication Date: November 7, 2023

ISBN: 9780063075917

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books