HarperTeen Blood Scion
HarperTeen Blood Scion

Blood Scion

By Deborah Falaye

$11.99

Publication Date: April 11, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 13 And Up, Grades 8 And Up

A young girl with forbidden powers must free her people from oppression in this richly layered, gripping epic fantasy—called an “explosive, powerful debut” and “a triumph of a book” by New York Times bestselling authors Stephanie Garber and Roseanne A. Brown—inspired by Yoruba-Nigerian mythology and perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and An Ember in the Ashes.

This is what they deserve.They wanted me to be a monster.I will be the worst monster they ever created.Fifteen-year-old Sloane can incinerate an enemy at will—she is a Scion, a descendant of the ancient Orisha gods.Under the Lucis’ brutal rule, her identity means her death if her powers are discovered. But when she is forcibly conscripted into the Lucis army on her fifteenth birthday, Sloane sees a new opportunity: to overcome the bloody challenges of Lucis training and destroy them from within.Sloane rises through the ranks and gains strength but, in doing so, risks something greater: losing herself entirely and becoming the very monster that she abhors.Following one girl’s journey of magic, injustice, power, and revenge, this deeply felt and emotionally charged debut from Deborah Falaye, inspired by Yoruba-Nigerian mythology, is a magnetic combination of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin and Daughter of Smoke and Bone that will utterly thrill and capture readers.

About the Author

Deborah Falaye is a Nigerian Canadian young adult author. She grew up in Lagos, Nigeria, where she spent her time devouring African literature, pestering her grandma for folktales, and tricking her grandfather into watching Passions every night. When she’s not writing about fierce black girls with badass magic, she can be found obsessing over all things reality TV. Deborah currently lives in Toronto with her husband and their partner-in-crime Yorkie, Major. Blood Scion is her first novel.

Format: Paperback

Length: 448 pages

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication Date: April 11, 2023

ISBN: 9780062954053

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books