Workman Publishing Company Book Nerd Workman Publishing Company Book Nerd
Workman Publishing Company Book Nerd Workman Publishing Company Book Nerd

Book Nerd

By Holly Maguire

$12.95

Publication Date: February 2, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

A gift book for book lovers: a charmingly illustrated celebration of the joys of being a book nerd, from towering piles on the bedside table to the intoxicating scent of a bookstore.

With over 7 million Instagram posts tagged #booknerd, and millions more tagged with the likes of #bookworm and #bibliophile, it’s clear: Book nerds rule! And what better gift than this joyous celebration of their singular passion.

It’s sweet, it’s affectionate, it’s understanding and clever, filled with bright, playful, intricately detailed illustrations and wonderful mottoes, definitions, jokes, and more, all of it the work of book obsessive Holly Maguire. Following in the vein of Crazy Cat Lady, Crazy Plant Lady, and the just published Dog Mom—with over 91,000 copies in print in their first year—Book Nerd celebrates the 360° love that separates a book nerd from the average person who likes to read, even the average book lover. A book nerd is someone special. She—or he!—belongs to more than one library and has a minimum of five books on their nightside table. She confidently uses words like bibliotaph (a person who hides or hoards books), tsundonku (a Japanese word for the phenomenon of buying lots of books but never getting around to reading them), and librocubicularist (a person who reads in bed). She’s never once thought the movie was better. And her favorite T-shirt says—what else?—“Too many books, too little time.”

About the Author

Holly Maguire is a freelance illustrator based in Bristol, UK. Holly's work tends to have intricate detail, lots of color, and playful imagery made using gouache, pen and ink. Holly has worked on a variety of projects such as clothing, editorial, board games and stationery. Her clients include Boden, HP, Birchbox, Vivetta, Little Brown Books, Radio Times, and DMC Embroidery.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 112 pages

Publisher: Workman Publishing Company

ISBN: 9781523510269

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet