Death at Morning House

By Maureen Johnson


Publication Date: August 6, 2024

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 14 And Up, Grades 9 And Up

From the bestselling author of the Truly Devious books, Maureen Johnson, comes a new standalone YA about a teen who uncovers a mystery while working as a tour guide on an island, and vows to solve it—even though someone seems determined to keep the secrets of Morning House, regardless of the cost.

Marlow Nelson didn’t mean to start a fire while out on a date. Not a real one, anyway.An exploding scented candle lands them in community service. At least the assignment is a good one: they’ll spend the summer living and working as a tour guide at Morning House, a mansion built in the 1920s for the infamous Ralston family on a private island. After the death of two children in a single day, the Ralstons abandoned it and it fell to ruin. For the first time in decades, the restored house has reopened to the public.Spending the summer on an island in a fabulous old mansion isn’t the worst thing in the world. Marlowe even falls for a fellow tour guide who believes the children were murdered and wants to investigate. Marlowe is happy to help, not realizing that they are unearthing more than just the truth, and a century later the evil secrets of Morning House still have the power to kill.Some places, Marlowe will discover, should be allowed to rot.

About the Author

Maureen Johnson is the bestselling author of several novels, including 13 Little Blue Envelopes, the Truly Devious series, the Suite Scarlett series, and the Shades of London series. She has also written collaborative works such as Let It Snow with John Green and Lauren Myracle and the Bane Chronicles with Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan. Maureen lives in New York and online on Twitter @maureenjohnson or at

Format: Hardcover

Length: 400 pages

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication Date: August 6, 2024

ISBN: 9780063255951

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books