Simon & Schuster Everything's Fine: A Novel
Simon & Schuster Everything's Fine: A Novel

Everything's Fine: A Novel

By Cecilia Rabess


Publication Date: June 11, 2024

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

An “extraordinarily brave…funny as hell” (Zakiya Dalila Harris, author of The Other Black Girl) debut and a “subtle, ironic, wise, state-of-the-nation novel” (Nick Hornby) that doesn’t just ask will they, but…should they?

On Jess’s first day at Goldman Sachs, she’s less than thrilled to learn she’ll be on the same team as Josh, her white, conservative sparring partner from college. Josh loves playing the devil’s advocate and is just…the worst.

But when Jess finds herself the sole Black woman on the floor, overlooked and underestimated, it’s Josh who shows up for her in surprising—if imperfect—ways. Before long, an unlikely friendship—one tinged with undeniable chemistry—forms between the two. A friendship that gradually, and then suddenly, turns into an electrifying romance that shocks them both.

Despite their differences, the force of their attraction propels the relationship forward, and Jess begins to question whether it’s more important to be happy than right. But then, it’s 2016, and the cultural and political landscape shifts underneath them. And Jess, who is just beginning to discover who she is and who she has the right to be, is forced to ask herself what she’s willing to compromise for love and whether, in fact, everything’s fine.

A stunning debut about “a love affair that turns inferno” (People), Everything’s Fine is a poignant and sharp novel that you won’t soon forget.

About the Author

Cecilia Rabess previously worked as a data scientist at Google and as an associate at Goldman Sachs. Her nonfiction has been featured in McSweeneys, FiveThirtyEight, Fast Company, and FlowingData, among other places. Everything’s Fine is her debut novel.

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 336 pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

ISBN: 9781982187750

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books