Fake Chinese Sounds

By Jing Jing Tsong


Publication Date: March 12, 2024

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 9 to 12, Grades 4 to 7

A middle-grade graphic novel about a Chinese American girl navigating identity, bullying, and the messy process of learning to be comfortable in your skin.

Mei’s summer is shaping up to be a boring one, between homework, studying, and Chinese school. The only bright spots are the three-times-a week practices with her soccer team, Divas, and her Nai Nai’s upcoming visit from Taiwan. Although Mei's Mandarin isn't the best and Nai Nai doesn't speak English, they find other ways to connect, like cooking guo tie together and doing tai chi in the mornings.

By the end of summer, Mei is sad to see Nai Nai go—she’s the complete opposite of Mei’s serious professor mother—but excited to start fifth grade. Until new kid Sid starts making her the butt of racist jokes. Her best friend, Kirra, says to ignore him, but does everyone else’s silence about the harassment mean they’re also ignoring Sid . . . or her? As Sid’s bullying fuels her feelings of invisibility, Mei must learn to reclaim her identity and her voice.

Perfect for fans of American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang, The Legend of Auntie Po by Shing Yin Khor, Measuring Up by Lily LaMotte, and The New Kid by Jerry Craft.

About the Author

Jing Jing Tsong is a New York Times bestselling illustrator who has worked on many picture books such as the Hawaiin Legends for Little Ones series, Aloha Zoo, A Small Bucket of Blessings, and more. Past projects have included the United State Postal Service Winter Fun Forever stamps and Lunar New Year posters for McDonald's. Her images are a digital collage of color, traditional printmaking techniques, and pattern. When not growing kale or surfing, Jing Jing spends her time translating the world through her words and pictures. Find her at jingjingtsong.com.

Author Residence: Pacific Northwest

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 208 pages

Publisher: Kokila

Publication Date: March 12, 2024

ISBN: 9780525553434

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books