Roaring Brook Press Hispanic Star: Ellen Ochoa
Roaring Brook Press Hispanic Star: Ellen Ochoa

Hispanic Star: Ellen Ochoa

By Claudia Romo Edelman


Publication Date: September 5, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12

Read about the first Latina in space, Ellen Ochoa, one of the most groundbreaking, iconic Hispanic and Latinx heroes that have shaped our culture and the world, in this gripping biography series, perfect for fans of the Who Was series.

Meet award-winning engineer and veteran astronaut Ellen Ochoa—once just a girl from Los Angeles, California. The granddaughter of Mexican immigrants, Ellen would pursue a career in physics at a young age and go on to earn master’s and doctorate degrees in electrical engineering from Stanford University. In 1993, Ellen became the first Latina in space. As a retired astronaut, she became the first Hispanic and second female director of the Johnson Space Center, has been an advocate for women and minorities in STEM fields, and was inducted into the Astronaut Hall of Fame.

Hispanic Star proudly celebrates Hispanic and Latinx heroes who have made remarkable contributions to American culture and have been undeniable forces in shaping its future.

About the Author

Claudia Romo Edelman is the creator of the Hispanic Star series and Founder of the We Are All Human Foundation. She has worked for 25 years with internationally recognized institutions including the United Nations, UNICEF, the Global Fund and the World Economic Forum. Visit her at

Nathalie Alonso is a Cuban American writer and journalist from Queens, New York. She is part of the Spanish editorial team at, and is a member of the Baseball Writers Association of America. Her writing for children has appeared in the magazines Faces and Cobblestone. Nathalie earned a B.A. in American studies from Columbia University. Visit her at

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 112 pages

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

Publication Date: September 5, 2023

ISBN: 9781250828286

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books