Random House Books for Young Readers History Smashers: The American Revolution
Random House Books for Young Readers History Smashers: The American Revolution

History Smashers: The American Revolution

By Kate Messner

$7.99

Publication Date: July 20, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the Revolutionary War with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales.

On April 18, 1775, Paul Revere rode through Lexington and Concord, Massachusetts, shouting, “The British are coming!” to start the American Revolution.RIGHT?

WRONG! Paul Revere made it to Lexington, but before he could complete his mission, he was captured!

The truth is, dozens of Patriots rode around warning people about the Redcoats’ plans that night. It was actually a man named Samuel Prescott who succeeded, alerting townspeople in Lexington and then moving on to Concord. But the Revolutionary War didn’t officially start for more than a year after Prescott’s ride. No joke.

Discover the nonfiction series that smashes everything you thought you knew about history. Don’t miss History Smashers: The Mayflower, Women’s Right to Vote, Pearl Harbor, and Titanic.

Series Overview: HISTORY SMASHERS is a paperback original series that explores historical moments in a frank and often surprising manner—busting myths and having fun along the way. We launched with two books and will publish one per list after that, with a topic for every kid.

PUB PLAN: Summer 2020: (#1) Mayflower, (#2) Women’s Right to Vote * Fall 2020: (#3) Pearl Harbor * Spring 2021: (#4) Titanic * Summer 2021: (#5) American Revolution * Fall 2021: (#6) Plagues and Pandemics

About the Author

KATE MESSNER is passionately curious and writes books that encourage kids to wonder, too. Her titles include award-winning picture books, like Over and Under the Snow; novels, like Breakout and Chirp; the Fergus and Zeke easy reader series, and the popular Ranger in Time chapter books, and works of nonfiction with a focus on nature and history. Before becoming a full time writer, Kate was a TV journalist and National Board certified middle school English teacher. She lives on Lake Champlain with her family and is trying to summit all 46 Adirondack High Peaks in between book deadlines. Visit katemessner.com and Facebook: Kate Messner for more information and follow her on Twitter @katemessner.

Author Residence: Plattsburgh, New York

Format: Paperback

Length: 224 pages

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: July 20, 2021

ISBN: 9780593120460

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal