Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) I Is for Immigrants
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) I Is for Immigrants

I Is for Immigrants

By Selina Alko

$18.99

Publication Date: June 15, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 4 to 8

An alphabet picture book about multiculturalism and how immigrants enrich our communities.

What do African dance, samosas, and Japanese gardens have in common? They are all gifts the United States received from immigrants: the vibrant, multi-faceted people who share their heritage and traditions to enrich the fabric of our daily lives. From Jewish delis to bagpipes, bodegas and Zen Buddhism, this is a celebration of immigrants: our neighbors, our friends.

This picture book companion to the popular B Is for Brooklyn weaves together a multitude of immigrant experiences in a concise, joyful package. For readers of Finding Kindness and Dreamers.

Christy Ottaviano Books

About the Author

Selina Alko is an award-winning author-illustrator of books for young readers, including One Golden Rule at School, B Is for Brooklyn, Daddy Christmas and Hanukkah Mama, and The Case for Loving: The Fight for Interracial Marriage. She is also the illustrator of Can I Touch Your Hair? and Why Am I Me?. Selina is known for publishing books that promote urbanism, inclusivity, and diversity. She lives in Brooklyn. selinaalko.com

Format: Hardcover Picture Book

Length: 40 pages

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Publication Date: June 15, 2021

ISBN: 9781250237866

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal