Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) I'll Tell You No Lies
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) I'll Tell You No Lies

I'll Tell You No Lies

By Amanda McCrina


Publication Date: August 1, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 12 to 18

From the acclaimed author of Traitor and The Silent Unseen, a YA novel of the Cold War era about a girl in post-WWII America who becomes entangled with an escaped Soviet pilot and must learn to decipher truth from lies.

July 1955. Eighteen-year-old Shelby Blaine and her father, an Air Force intelligence officer, have just been wrenched away from their old life in West Germany to New York’s Griffiss Air Force Base, where he has been summoned to lead the interrogation of an escaped Russian pilot. Still in shock from the car accident that killed her mother barely a month earlier, Shelby struggles as much with her grief and the emotional gulf between her and her father as having to start over in a new home. Then a chance meeting with the would-be defector spirals into a deadly entanglement, as the pilot’s cover story is picked apart and he attempts to escape his military and intelligence handlers, with Shelby caught in the middle. The more she learns of his secrets, including his detention at Auschwitz during the war, the more of an increasingly willing accessory Shelby becomes, even as she begins to see that she can only trust herself to discover who is lying and what is really happening.

About the Author

Amanda McCrina was homeschooled through high school and graduated from the University of West Georgia with a BA in history and political science. For three years, she taught high school English and government at an international school in Madrid, Spain, and is now a bookseller in Franklin, Tennessee. She is the author of Traitor and The Silent Unseen. amandamccrina.com

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 224 pages

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Publication Date: August 1, 2023

ISBN: 9780374390990

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books