Inside Out and Back Again
Inside Out and Back Again

Inside Out and Back Again

By Thanhha Lai


Publication Date: Available Now

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now


For ages 8 to 12


New York Times Bestseller! Newbery Honor Book! Winner of the National Book Award! Inspired by her childhood experience of fleeing Vietnam and immigrating to Alabama, Kirkus Reviews called Thanhha Lai’s celebrated coming-of-age debut "an enlightening, poignant, and unexpectedly funny novel in verse." 


For all the ten years of her life, Hà has only known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, the warmth of her friends close by...and the beauty of her very own papaya tree.


But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. Hà and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hope. In America, Hà discovers the foreign world of Alabama: the coldness of its strangers, the dullness of its food, the strange shape of its landscape...and the strength of her very own family.


This is the moving story of one girl’s year of change, dreams, grief, and healing as she journeys from one country to another, one life to the next.


Inside Out and Back Again is one of the highest praised books of the year:
• New York Times bestseller
• Winner of a Newbery Honor
• Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature
• A Junior Library Guild selection
• A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2011
• A School Library Journal Best Book of 2011
• A Parents magazine Best Book of 2011
• A Kirkus Reviews Best Children’s Book of 2011
• Four starred reviews

Extras included in this paperback edition feature an interview with Thanhha Lai, a family activity, and more!


02-03-2018 22:01

It’s about a girl in Vietnam and there’s a war going on, and she has to move. It’s about her going there. Some of the other kids make fun of her, so I felt bad for her. It’s kind of similar to Wonder. It’s told in verse, and it’s a deep book. - Mira, 10

5 stars based on 1 reviews
Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books