Greenwillow Books Lift, Mix, Fling!
Greenwillow Books Lift, Mix, Fling!

Lift, Mix, Fling!

By Lola M. Schaefer

$17.99

Publication Date: March 8, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 3-7 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3

How do you make work easier? With machines, of course! Acclaimed author Lola M. Schaefer and award-winning illustrator James Yang explore various types of machines and their numerous, complex functions. A fun and interactive STEM-themed picture book for fans of David Macaulay and Byron Barton, and anyone curious about how things work and what makes things go.

Machines are everywhere. They are the spoons that scoop and the trucks that dump. They are pulleys and ramps and even a giant rocket ship flying through outer space. How many simple and compound machines can you find?Lift, Mix, Fling! introduces readers to the six different simple machines: the screw, the lever, the wedge, the pulley, the inclined plane, and the wheel and axle. Lola M. Schaefer’s lively, rhyming text and James Yang’s bold and inventive illustrations make a STEM topic easy to understand and fun to explore. Lift, Mix, Fling! illustrates how machines function and why they are important—a necessary building block in science. A fun and educational choice for curious children, for classrooms, and for family story times.Includes backmatter about simple and compound machines.

About the Author

Lola M. Schaefer has been a teacher for more than eighteen years and is the author of many books for children, including This Is the Sunflower, illustrated by Donald Crews, and This Is the Rain, illustrated by Jane Wattenberg, which Kirkus Reviews, in a starred review, called, “a stunning picture book” and “as essential to library collections as rain is to summer sunflowers.” Her book What's Up, What's Down? was a Junior Library Guild selection and The Bear and the Star was a Bank Street Children’s Best Book of the Year. She lives in Dawsonville, Georgia.James Yang is the author-illustrator of Bus! Stop!, which was selected as an outstanding picture book by the New York Times. The follow up, Stop! Bot!, was the winner of the 2020 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award. His work has appeared in numerous prestigious trade publications, and his subway wallpaper can be seen on trains in the New York City transportation system. James Yang lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 40 pages

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Publication Date: March 8, 2022

ISBN: 9780062457103

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet