HarperAlley Measuring Up
HarperAlley Measuring Up

Measuring Up

By Lily LaMotte

$12.99

Publication Date: October 27, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Currently out of stock, but can usually be shipped from our warehouse. Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, this full color, contemporary heartwarming graphic novel proves food always has a way of bringing people together no matter the distance, by debut talent Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu.

Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved to Seattle from Taiwan, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in is to celebrate A-má's 70th birthday together. Since she can’t go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her and surprise her parents—by winning the grand prize in a kids’ cooking contest to pay for A-má's ticket!

There's just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food. And after her pickled cucumbers are mistaken for worms at lunch, she's determined to cook something American. Channeling her inner Julia Child, she cooks her way closer to the prize money—that is until she starts to lose herself in the competition. But Cici can't let A-má down, even if it means combining her newfound American identity with the flavors of home.Cici navigates the blending of her Taiwanese culture and her new American identity with heart and bravery. Measuring Up combines the popularity of MasterChef Junior with the immigration and identity struggles of American Born Chinese, and the girl power of Roller Girl.

About the Author

Lily LaMotte has an MFA from Hamline's Writing for Children and Young Adults program, and is on the SCBWI Western Washington Advisory Committee, with past roles of conference coordinator and interim assistant RA, and current role as Monthly Programming Coordinator. When Lily LaMotte isn’t writing, she’s watching cooking shows. Sometimes when she sees the gray clouds outside her window in the Pacific Northwest, she loads up the camper van for a writing retreat camping trip with her husband and two dogs. Visit her at www.lilylamotte.com.Ann Xu is an Ignatz-nominated cartoonist and illustrator working in Baltimore. She graduated with a BFA in Illustration from the Maryland Institute College of Art. Visit her at www.annixu.com.

Format: Paperback

Length: 208 pages

Publisher: HarperAlley

Publication Date: October 27, 2020

ISBN: 9780062973863

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal