Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) Of Light and Shadow
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) Of Light and Shadow

Of Light and Shadow

By Tanaz Bhathena


Publication Date: May 23, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 12 to 18

Set in a historical, India-inspired universe, Of Light and Shadow is a standalone novel of magic, mayhem, love, and betrayal—the story of a bandit and a prince who change each other in unexpected ways.

Eighteen-year-old Roshan is out for justice. Abandoned by her parents at birth and taken in by Jwala's most notorious bandit, she is now leader of the Shadow Clan, a gang impoverished by the Jwalian government's atrocities. Her goal: expose the government's corruption to Queen Bhairavi of Jwala, and earn back rights for her people.

Second in line for the throne, Prince Navin has always felt like an outcast. When a night out drinking with friends leads to his capture by the Shadow Clan, Navin plots to befriend Roshan and use her to buy back his freedom—and he has no intention of sympathizing with her cause.

The closer Navin and Roshan get, the harder it becomes to fight against their growing attraction. But can love be enough to overpower injustice, deceit, and even death?

About the Author

Tanaz Bhathena writes books for young adults. Her fantasy novel Hunted by the Sky was named a Best Book of the Year by the CBC and USBBY, and is the first of a YA fantasy duology set in a world inspired by medieval India. Her novel The Beauty of the Moment won the Nautilus Gold Award for Young Adult Fiction and has also been nominated for the Ontario Library Association’s White Pine Award. Her acclaimed debut, A Girl Like That, was named a Best Book of the Year by numerous outlets including The Globe and Mail, Seventeen, and The Times of India. She lives in Mississauga, Ontario, with her family. Visit her at tanazbhathena.com.

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 448 pages

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Publication Date: May 23, 2023

ISBN: 9780374389116

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books