Balzer + Bray Other Words for Home
Balzer + Bray Other Words for Home

Other Words for Home

By Jasmine Warga

$7.99

Publication Date: April 6, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually ships within 7-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

A Newbery Honor Book and Walter Honor Book for Younger ReadersOne of the most acclaimed middle grade books of last year is now coming out in paperback. This is a gorgeously written, hopeful novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

I am learning how to besadand happyat the same time.Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US, and her new label of “Middle Eastern” is an identity she’s never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most important, finding yourself.

About the Author

Jasmine Warga is the author of the teen books Here We Are Now and My Heart and Other Black Holes, which has been translated into over twenty-five languages. Other Words for Home is her debut middle grade novel.You can visit Jasmine online at www.jasminewarga.com.

Format: Paperback

Length: 368 pages

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

ISBN: 9780062747815

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal