Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) The Nightmare House
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) The Nightmare House

The Nightmare House

By Sarah Allen


Publication Date: August 8, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 10 to 12

From rising star author of What Stars Are Made Of and Breathing Underwater comes a chilling new middle-grade tale about fear, friendship, and finding courage even in the darkest of moments.

Penny Hope used to be brave, but that was before she met the Fear Maker when she was a little girl. Years later, he still haunts her nightmares—a tall, thin man with red eyes, in a haunted house in the woods, who devours human souls and leaves their eyes hollow and empty. Penny’s beloved grandma tells her to write down these nightmares as poems in her notebook. But then Penny starts seeing blank-eyed people in the waking world, too. She’s the only one who notices.

As more people around her fall prey to the Fear Maker, Penny must gather her courage once and for all to save the souls of those she loves. With the help of a magic garden and a new friend, she ventures to the Fear Maker’s house. But the house is a labyrinth of shadows and tricks—and the Fear Maker’s fun is just beginning. Can a pocketful of sunflower seeds and a notebook filled with poems be enough to defeat a master of nightmares? And if Penny sets foot in the Fear Maker’s house, will she ever escape?

About the Author

Sarah Allen is the author of What Stars Are Made Of and Breathing Underwater, as well as poems for kids published in places like Cicada, The Caterpillar, and more. Born and raised in Utah, she received an MFA in creative writing from Brigham Young University, and now calls the Midwest home. She spends her non-writing time watching David Attenborough documentaries and blasting show-tunes, which helps keep her Fear Maker at bay. Find her online @sarahallenbooks.

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 272 pages

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Publication Date: August 8, 2023

ISBN: 9780374390952

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books