Algonquin Young Readers The Ogress and the Orphans
Algonquin Young Readers The Ogress and the Orphans

The Ogress and the Orphans

By Kelly Barnhill


Publication Date: September 19, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 10 And Up, Grades 5 to 17

Now in paperback: A National Book Award finalist and instant fantasy classic about the power of community, generosity, books, and baked goods, from the author of the beloved Newbery Medal winner The Girl Who Drank the Moon.


Stone-in-the-Glen is a once-lovely town that has fallen on hard times. The beautiful Library burned down; the dazzling, dragon-slaying Mayor offers more speeches than action. And for all their resourcefulness, the fourteen clever Orphans at the Orphan House still struggle to get enough to eat.

When a mysterious neighbor begins leaving baked goods and other gifts around Stone-in-the-Glen, the Orphans start to explore the history and possibilities of their town. Then one day, a child goes missing from the Orphan House. At the Mayor’s accusation, all eyes turn to the Ogress who lives nearby—a stranger to the townsfolk (or so they think).  

How can the Orphans share the story of the Ogress’s goodness with people who refuse to listen? And how can they help their misguided neighbors see the real villain in their midst?

Perfect for a cozy read-aloud, this modern parable about the magic of stories and kindness features a splendid new cover and a readers' discussion guide.

About the Author

Kelly Barnhill lives in Minnesota with her husband and three children. She is the author of six novels, including The Girl Who Drank the Moon, winner of the 2017 John Newbery Medal. She is also the winner of the World Fantasy Award and has been a finalist for the Minnesota Book Award, a Nebula Award, and the PEN/USA literary prize. Visit her online at or on Twitter: @kellybarnhill.

Format: Paperback

Length: 416 pages

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

Publication Date: September 19, 2023

ISBN: 9781643754017

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books